reader question

guys, how do you cope with a serious injury? (by serious in this case, i mean an injury that keeps you out of the saddle, of course.)

it seems that i might be looking at six weeks off. i’m devastated.

i don’t remember being so disheartened last year when i broke my arm. maybe it’s because auto and i had not really gelled under saddle, and it felt perfectly fine to face six more weeks of him in full training. we’ve been making so much progress lately, i can’t bear to be out of the tack for 6 weeks.

a few weeks ago, one of you guys posted the best meme i’ve ever seen: about equestrians not caring about their pain, just how long before they can get back in the saddle. i’ve been trying to find it, but can’t. send it along if you know where to find it, please.  and please share your coping methods, too. please and thanks.

7 thoughts on “reader question

  1. i’m totally bummed out for you – 6 weeks sounds like forever 😦

    haven’t personally had to deal with forced time off from injury, but when i went 3 months (more or less) this past winter bc of unrideable weather conditions, i read and read and read. all of the blogs, all of articles, anything horse-related just to get my fix and keep me inspired and motivated.

    anyway, i hope the time flies by – you’ll be back in the saddle soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man…I know how you’re feeling. When I broke my collarbone I was out for like 6-8 weeks, but good thing it was during winter time so I couldn’t really do much riding. I got my horsie fix by going out and grooming her awkwardly with one hand and feeding her treats. Also DH came out and handled her so we could go on walks on the levy. I second the reading all things horsie. 🙂

    Hope you get better soon! Sending you healthy, healing vibes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To be totally honest, I’ve never followed doctor’s advice. I’ve had broken ribs, a broken elbow, majorly sprained wrist, torn tendon in foot, broken toe, etc etc. Almost all of those occurred while I was working on a farm so I didn’t really have the option of taking it easy anyway. And if I was gonna work, well by damn, I was gonna ride. I just rode without that stirrup or rein or whatever and kept plugging along. So basically I’m a REALLY bad example, and that’s probably why my elbow still hurts from time to time.

    I know 6 weeks seems like forever, but maybe now is a good time to take a vacation or learn whatever non-horsey thing you’ve been eyeing forever and never had time for? Or catch up on a hell of a lot of Netflix. You could also build your library of horse books and get to studying, if you wanted to keep getting your fix!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My recommendation is to do lots of stretching and work on the body parts you can use! Maybe in your case arms? It helped me to have something to fill the time and helped me feel less fit when I got back on. Also, I still went out to the barn and watched/listened to lessons of people around my level. Maybe ask your trainer to let you follow him/her around for a few lessons. I volunteered my horse as an advanced lesson horse until I was back in the program-she got more time in front of the trainer, and I knew that she was being worked correctly. Also, drink a lot of wine and watch bad TV.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh no!!! Gosh that really stinks – sending you healing vibes. Depends on how mobile you are with your injury, but when I couldn’t ride for a few weeks about 1.5 years ago, I got lessons on lunging my horse. I knew how to longe w-t-c, but my trainer gave me tons of exercises I had never tried before so it was really great.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I’m so sorry. That just sucks.

    I had emergency abdominal surgery a few years ago, in the spring, right as we were hitting our groove to get ready for the summer. It was probably about 6 weeks before I could really get back in the saddle. (The surgeon told me I could ride after 2 weeks but my body just would not cooperate – I was trying very hard to fight through it but it wasn’t pain – it was like my body just didn’t work the way it ought to.)

    I read a lot. I audited a lot of lessons. I groomed Tristan to the nines. I had friends ride him, and watched them – in fact I ended up paying for a few lessons for one of the barn kids to ride him. I scribed for a couple shows in the area and tagged along with the barn when they showed – I couldn’t groom, but I could organize and take photos and cheer.

    Honestly, I also slept a lot because I just felt hammered by the surgery. It was the only time in my life when I got tired just from being awake and alert for a little while – not even getting out of bed, just talking to people! So I had a lot of that to cope with. I probably would not deal as well if I felt otherwise fine.

    I wonder if work without stirrups might suit, after a few more weeks – so that you’re not really flexing the ankle. When I have gout flareups in my feet I’ll often drop the stirrups, as it’s easier and less painful that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Whatever a doctor has told me about not being able to ride, I pretty much ignore. I broke my elbow and wasn’t supposed to ride for 4 weeks and I rode after 2 weeks. I had foot surgery and was told no riding for 12 weeks and I rode after 9 weeks. Just buy some flexi fancy wide track stirrups and try riding after 3 weeks. By the way, pretty sure my doctors all hate me. Or ride without stirrups!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

